Record Details

Catalog Search



Selfish, shallow, and self-absorbed : sixteen writers on the decision not to have kids / edited and with an introduction by Meghan Daum.

Daum, Meghan, 1970- (editor.).

Available copies

  • 1 of 1 copy available at Burlington Public Library.

Current holds

0 current holds with 1 total copy.

Location Call Number / Copy Notes Barcode Shelving Location Holdable? Status Due Date
Burlington Public Library 306.874 DAUM 2016 39851001602623 Non-fiction Copy hold / Volume hold Available -

Record details

  • ISBN: 9781250081643
  • ISBN: 1250081645
  • Physical Description: vi, 282 pages ; 21 cm
  • Edition: First Picador paperback edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Picador, 2016.

Content descriptions

Summary, etc.:
"SIXTEEN LITERARY LUMINARIES ON THE CONTROVERSIAL SUBJECT OF BEING CHILDLESS BY CHOICE, COLLECTED IN ONE FASCINATING ANTHOLOGYOne of the main topics of cultural conversation during the last decade was the supposed "fertility crisis," and whether modern women could figure out a way to have it all-a successful, demanding career and the required 2.3 children-before their biological clock stopped ticking. Now, however, conversation has turned to whether it's necessary to have it all (see Anne-Marie Slaughter) or, perhaps more controversial, whether children are really a requirement for a fulfilling life. The idea that some women and men prefer not to have children is often met with sharp criticism and incredulity by the public and mainstream media. In this provocative and controversial collection of essays, curated by writer Meghan Daum, sixteen acclaimed writers explain why they have chosen to eschew parenthood. Contributors include Lionel Shriver, Sigrid Nunez, Kate Christiensen, Elliott Holt, Geoff Dyer, and Tim Kreider, among others, who will give a unique perspective on the overwhelming cultural pressure of parenthood. Selfish, Shallow, and Self-Absorbed makes a thoughtful and passionate case for why parenthood is not the only path in life, taking our parent-centric, kid-fixated, baby-bump-patrolling culture to task in the process. What emerges is a more nuanced, diverse view of what it means to live a full, satisfying life"-- Provided by publisher.
"One of the main topics of cultural conversation during the last decade was the supposed "fertility crisis," and whether modern women could figure out a way to way to have it all--a successful, demanding career and the required 2.3 children--before their biological clock stopped ticking. Now, however, conversation has turned to whether it's necessary to have it all (see Anne-Marie Slaughter) or, perhaps more controversial, whether children are really a requirement for a fulfilling life. The idea that some women and men prefer not to have children is often met with sharp criticism and incredulity by the public and mainstream media. In this provocative and controversial collection of essays, curated by writer Meghan Daum, thirteen acclaimed female writers explain why they have chosen to eschew motherhood. Contributors include Lionel Shriver, Sigrid Nunez, Kate Christiensen, Elliott Holt, Geoff Dyer, and Tim Kreider, among others, who will give a unique perspective on the overwhelming cultural pressure of parenthood. This collection makes a smart and passionate case for why parenthood is not the only path to a happy, productive life, and takes our parent-centric, kid-fixated, baby-bump-patrolling culture to task in the process. In this book, that shadowy faction known as the childless-by-choice comes out into the light. - For readers of Brigid Schulte and Debora Spar"-- Provided by publisher.
Subject: Childfree choice.
Parenthood > Moral and ethical aspects.
Parenthood > Psychological aspects.
LITERARY COLLECTIONS > Essays.
SOCIAL SCIENCE > Essays.
FAMILY & RELATIONSHIPS > Parenting > General.
Childfree choice.
Parenthood > Moral and ethical aspects.
Parenthood > Psychological aspects.

Additional Resources